Home Forums Product Discussion & Questions BeoLink MCL 2AV Power Adapter

Tagged: 

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    CharlieWednesday
    GOLD Member
      • Liverpool

I want a power adapter for an MCL2AV but I can’t seem to find the right one.  I’m no electrician, so don’t want to get it wrong and fry the damned thing.

The MCL 2AV unit is printed with ‘DC 15v, Max 250mA’, and while it is easily possible to find a power supply of 15v, the output in amps is always far greater than  250mA.

Any ideas?

Guy
        • Warwickshire, UK

If you look at the adaptor, you can see the model number A31530B

MCL2AV PSU

A search for that part number soon comes up with this similar looking, correctly rated adaptor: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/274422759276

EDIT:  When I had that adaptor in my eBay ‘Watched Items’ the seller sent me an offer with a couple of pounds off a few days later.

But if you look closely at the diagram at the bottom the polarities are reversed; for the MCL2AV the positive needs to be the outer part of the connector.  Simply reverse the polarity of the cable and you should be fine.

Alternatively, send an email to https://www.quality-dream-audio.co.uk/ and see if they have one in stock that is not listed on their website.  They often have MCL2 equipment.

CharlieWednesday
        GOLD Member
          • Liverpool

I already asked Quality Dream Audio – they don’t have one.

Thanks for this though – the one you found is 300mA rather than 250mA, and that’s the trouble I’ve been having – I can find them close, but not quite right.

I’m not sure how much difference an extra 50mA would make, but I don’t want to risk frying it!

Guy
            • Warwickshire, UK

The one in my photo is the original adaptor that came new in box with an MCL2AV.  I think that the ‘Max 250mA’ on the MCL2AV itself refers to the maximum current drawn.

Madskp
            GOLD Member
              • Denmark