Internal bluetooth receiver for transistor Beolits

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Home Forums Product Discussion & Questions BeoLit Internal bluetooth receiver for transistor Beolits

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    MrRoast
    BRONZE Member
      • Nottingham, UK
      • Topics Started 6
      • Total Posts 30

Let me first start by clarifying that I’m no electronics expert – and so there will likely be some fundamental things I’m not accounting for in this post, however, I’m hoping that someone can help me achieve what I’m trying to do!

So… I have a fondness for Beolit transistor radios which comes from growing up with one in the family home, and have acquired a few over the years since.

A year or so ago I had an idea of attempting to put together a bluetooth module from off the shelf parts that I could install (but be reversible) within the body of a Beolit with an external source input (a Beolit 1000 for example).

After a period of searching and trial and error I created a rough solution which sort of works ?

– a small step down power supply converter (from 7.5v to 5v) connected via the on/off switch (so the bluetooth board only uses power when the radio is *on*)

– this then feeds a 5v bluetooth 4.1 board (took a while to find one that powers up in receive mode!)

– the audio output of which is connected to the corresponding DIN input pins

Well that’s the theory – however, when I tested it on a Beolit 600 (using internal D cell batteries) as soon as I initiated streaming the sound from the radio just died away. Again I mention I’m not an electronics expert but I’m guessing that the current that is being drawn is too much to power the actual radio in addition to the ps and bluetooth board.