Hum and buzz on BL3s to Theatre

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    etype76
      • Topics Started 17
      • Total Posts 65

Hi all,

This is an issue I have intermittently dealt with on my Beolab 3s (both) connected to the Theatre. It’s actually becoming a pain just when I think I’ve got it solved, I come home and there the buzz is again. Most audible when I change volume but pretty constant.

The buzzing is quite high frequency sound. Both BL3s are connected via Powerlink mk2 fully wired and connect via a splitter into PL1 port on Theatre.

It is pretty hard to separate all the cables back there but I believe they are. Are there any tips for avoiding this issue?

thx

appeardk
        • Topics Started 1
        • Total Posts 15

I am no expert, but I read in the BL3 manual that hey specifically advice tyo use Mk3 cables as others might cause noise. I just noticed you mentioned you use Mk2.Screenshot 2023-03-13 at 12.23.34

etype76
          • Topics Started 17
          • Total Posts 65

Thanks, I recall that in the manual but I always thought that MK2 was compatible with everything and being the thicker type was less susceptible to noise.

hox
            • Topics Started 2
            • Total Posts 5

I have the exact same issue – drives me crazy.

I don’t know if my pl cables are mk2 or mk3, but they are pretty thick and have the litte triangle…

I tried to connect all speakers to the same power outlet, to rule out any ground loop, but it didn’t help.

Mr10Percent
              • Topics Started 8
              • Total Posts 456

I dont think it is the cables – or rather it is (silly)

I had the same issue taking a regular CAT7 (flat cable), connecting my Beolab3s (with RJ45 to PL connector) and the issue was bad. I could clearly hear an impulse when pressing vol +/-.

I threw out all my PL cables and RJ45’s and replaced the lot with Sound Heavenly cables. It worked but there is still a noise.