BS3000 – CD rotation stopped

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Home Forums Product Discussion & Questions BeoSound BS3000 – CD rotation stopped

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Londonsteve
    BRONZE Member
      • Topics Started 1
      • Total Posts 3

Hi all, newbie here but long time B&O fan. I recently acquired a nice Beosound 3000 which worked fine for 3-4 hours (not in one go), then mid-way through playing a CD it stopped and now the disc won’t rotate when you press play. I’ve tried it with a variety of CDs but it’s the same in every case. You can see the laser do a little dance as it tries to (successfully?) focus on the disc, but the spindle won’t rotate.

I doubt there’s anything wrong with the laser itself as it was playing a variety of discs perfectly, included a fairly scratched CD-R. It quickly found track 1 and would jump instantly between tracks, then ‘boom’, it just died.

I’d be grateful for any advice as to the potential problem from those more experienced than I. I’ve had Ouvertures and the Century apart before and I’ve got a few Philips CDM 12-type transports stored away, some with duff lasers and others that exhibited the same refusal to turn the disc.

Should I just go ahead and replace the drive motor in this BS3000 with one from a CDM 12 I know that works? Alternatively, if I can source a parts donor unit which one would have the same CD transport as my 3000 small clamper (I think this makes it a Mk.1?) that I could just swap over?

I’m not an electronics engineer and I’ve no ability to do things like test components, swap caps, etc. I can however change things over as a module. Maybe as I go deeper into the hobby I’ll acquire some actual electronics knowledge too!

Thanks all for your advice.

matador
        • Paris France
        • Topics Started 47
        • Total Posts 730