BeoMaster 5 -How to copy music?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    MichaelW
    BRONZE Member

Hi! I’m new to making posts here, but wonder if anyone can help?

I have acquired a good, working BM5/BeoSound 5 and realise that BeoConnect for MAC doesn’t work. I have found a workaround and can connect using SMB to the BM5 IP address and can successfully see the MUSIC folder and see it’s contents ( which agree pretty much with what I see on the control unit display). As a trial , I copied some audio tracks into a new folder that I created on the BM5 hard disk.  But I cannot find those tracks on the controller display – no matter where I look!  I saw that Stephan Zueger helped kaz986 with using SMB.

I am hoping that someone else with experience on this old ( but still usable) product can help me store my CD collection on the BeoMaster 5 hard disk ?

Thanks in advance,

gburgess
      BRONZE Member

Hi Michael –

I regularly put new music on via my mac. I will send you a word document on the process I use this weekend. I bought software for ripping CDs and creating lossless files called dbPowerAmp. I highly recommend it.
        -Gregg

MichaelW
        BRONZE Member

Thanks very much Gregg! I will look forward to seeing the document and getting the machine working properly for me. The system is amazing as it is, but the choice of music is not mine. I’m more into classical music.   Meantime , I will search online for that software and start playing with that.  Mike

gburgess
          BRONZE Member

CONNECTING ON MAC.
            BS5: Go to SETTINGS/NETWORK INFO and get the IP address of the BM5 (likely 10.0.0.163)
            MAC: Open Finder, go to GO/CONNECT TO SERVER and enter the IP address
            Login with username BM-USER, password *****

RIPPING CDs lossless