Beomaster 1600 Wheels and Belts

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    jfrancis49
      • Topics Started 13
      • Total Posts 34

Hello All,

I have a Beomaster 1600 with the “tractor tread” belts on it that is in really, really great shape. Except the belts are pretty much shot and of the 4 drive wheels, only one has a slot that will drive a shaft. Unfortunately someone already switched the position of the wheels at some point because of the broken slots. Has anyone tried 3D printing something like a drive wheel before? Also a long time ago someone had posted in the forum that a timing belt from a car would work for the belt replacement. But I could never find which belt that might be.

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated. Ironically the receiver still works and probably should have the capacitors replaced, but if I can’t resolve the mechanical issues there doesn’t seem to be much point.

Regards,

John

Llurkio
        • Topics Started 7
        • Total Posts 22

Hi John
        As there’s been no suggestions for you, I’ll try to offer my thoughts.
        I’ve done a couple of these and luckily mine didn’t have your problems (mine was clutches), so would it possible to glue some tight fitting plastic pipe over the tractor wheel axles and pin them in place with some very hot pins pushed through ?pipe

As for the other side, drill through the metal shaft and do the same using something like an “R” clip (removable, if needs be) ?
        I really don’t know if this is a practical solution, but I’d be looking at something along these lines initially – otherwise, keep an eye open on Ebay for a scrap machine (but I suspect this might just have the same problem !)
        Tim

jfrancis49
          • Topics Started 13
          • Total Posts 34

Hello Tim,