4500/5500 and two-way

Home Forums Product Discussion & Questions Vintage Products 4500/5500 and two-way

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    lumbergh
      • Topics Started 3
      • Total Posts 8

Hi,
      I have a Beomaster 5500 that I would like to use with Beocord/Beogram CD 4500 and Beolink 5000 in two-way mode.
      I’d rather not replace the Beomaster with a 6500/7000 or buy a MCP 5500 instead but from what I have read that is what would be required for it to work out of the box.

Are all versions of BM 5500 incompatible with two-way except for with MCP 5500?
      If so does a fix exist that doesn’t include hacking the BM or building a signal converter?

I have seen that BM 4500 needs to have at least SW version 2.1 to work with two-way, but I have not found what versions are required for Beocord/Beogram CD 4500.
      What versions do they need to have and are they fully compatible with BM 5500 if they are new enough?

I currently only have a Beo4 to control the system (and no Beogram CD or working Beolink 5000 yet) so I don’t know what my Beocord sends back.

And just to make sure, would a Beolink 5000 be enough to control the system fully if it could talk to the BM 5500?

As far as I can tell the Beo4 cannot do everything.

Die_Bogener
        • Topics Started 3
        • Total Posts 187

Beocord and Beogram do not need any modification, they already work 2-way… they are just telling the master title number or track.

The master can send these data to the MCP and show them. The BM5500 is just compatible with the MCP, not BL7000 or BL5000.

The BM5500 has just a 16K Eprom, the later BM6500/7000 a 64K Eprom. So they are not compatible without modification.

There is/was a BM5500 BL7000 64K file available for an upgrade if modified with a BM6500 cpu.

If you don’t need timer programing: the BL1000 is much better than the Beo4 for the BM5500, easier and faster.

lumbergh
          • Topics Started 3
          • Total Posts 8