Home Forums Product Discussion & Questions BeoCenter Beocenter 5000 – record deck issues

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    turricaned
    BRONZE Member

Hi all, newbie here so please bear with me…

So I bought a Beocenter 5000 via eBay the other day, and spent a fair while playing LPs of varying age and conditions before I agreed to take it; everything sounded fine as far as I could tell.

We taped the tone arm in place for the drive home, wrapped the unit in bubble-wrap to within an inch of its life, secured it on the rear seat of my car with multiple straps and two of the seatbelts – then drove home so gingerly that I suspect even the old grannies behind me were wishing I’d get a move on… 😉

Anyways, I get it home, unpack and set it up and I’m sure something’s not right with either the record deck itself or possibly the preamp circuits.  The arm and stylus seem to track fine, but in terms of audio the top end seems OK, but the bass appears to be somewhat attenuated and the midrange (particularly vocals) seems oddly distorted.

I checked the fidelity of the FM radio and that sounds as I’d expect from a B&O unit, so I’m reasonably sure neither the speakers nor the main integrated amp is the issue.

The strangest bugbear is that when I press Stop/Turn, there seems to be a pop and a brief burst of continued audio in the left channel as (or fractionally after) the tone arm lifts.

I appreciate it’s a bit of a conundrum, but might anyone have experienced something similar before or have any idea what the issue might be?

Thanks ever so much,

J.

Mark-sf
      BRONZE Member

Did you tighten the turntable transport screws and remove the platter for your transport. If not its bouncing could have caused issues. The mute switch may have been damaged. Have you tried the tape deck?

Dillen

Failing cantilever suspension perhaps.