The new BeoSound Essence

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 62 Replies | 4 Followers

MikaelB
Not Ranked
21 Posts
Bronze Member
MikaelB posted on Fri, Jan 10 2014 9:09 AM

To day I have a BeoSound/BeoMaster 5 combination, connected with masterlink. I consider replasing it with the BeoSound Essense.

Will I be able to play music in multiple rooms with the BeoSound Essence?

/MikaelB

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

PhilLondon
Top 25 Contributor
London
3,611 Posts
Bronze Member
Verified by MikaelB

The Essence isn't a Masterlink (nor a NL) product.

You'll need a PC running a DLNA server to store all your music files. This can be your BM5 (with or without the BS5).

Then you'll need an Essence in every room. They can connect using an Ethernet or a Wifi network to your DLNA server.

You can play different music in each room, but you won't be able to play the same music in different room (party mode).

If I were you I'd wait a little bit longer. It seems they will upgrade the BM5 to NL, and you may then have a better solution based on that.

Beoworld app with direct photo upload and emoticons. Other apps: ConsltThe Story Mouse

All Replies

PhilLondon
Top 25 Contributor
London
3,611 Posts
Bronze Member
Verified by MikaelB

The Essence isn't a Masterlink (nor a NL) product.

You'll need a PC running a DLNA server to store all your music files. This can be your BM5 (with or without the BS5).

Then you'll need an Essence in every room. They can connect using an Ethernet or a Wifi network to your DLNA server.

You can play different music in each room, but you won't be able to play the same music in different room (party mode).

If I were you I'd wait a little bit longer. It seems they will upgrade the BM5 to NL, and you may then have a better solution based on that.

Beoworld app with direct photo upload and emoticons. Other apps: ConsltThe Story Mouse

Millemissen
Top 10 Contributor
Flensborg, Denmark
13,682 Posts
Bronze Member