Connecting 7000 system and MCL 2A to ML / MCL Converter

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 7 Replies | 1 Follower

fionajc
Not Ranked
2 Posts
Bronze Member
fionajc posted on Mon, Oct 12 2020 4:18 PM

I have a Beosystem 7000 with link cable run through the house and 3 x Link2A's with passive speakers. I have just bought a ML/MCL converter type 1652 as I wish to use Logitech Squeezbox in one of the rooms which has a Link 2AV.

Sorry if this has been asked before and the questions might not seem connected but Im looking at all my options. I also need to add I have a Beosystem 9500, Becentre 3600 and fitted a preamp in a Beogram 3000 after repairing the power supply and tracking. I repair Beolink 1000's and 5000's. I also have a Denon AV system and a Setton, Technics, Sansui system at work. I use all Tannoy Cheviot speakers, I'm an electronic engineer so I'm capable of some circuit design and mods. Im not bragging, I'm saying that you can be as technical as you like and trying to avoid the dreaded mansplaining.

My questions are:

1. Do I have to fit a 2AV to use the 1652 or see Q4. ?
  2. Can I put a Link 2A tranceiver into the 1652?
  3. Can I connect the 1652 using Link cable or does it have to be power link
  4. If I connect it directly to the BM7000 via power link how do I add control / Squeezebox?
  5. How easy is it to find IR devices for the 1652

All Replies

Millemissen
Top 10 Contributor
Flensborg, Denmark
13,424 Posts
Bronze Member

No need to get technical there!

In order to use the extra inputs on the AV panel, you must add the ML/MCL to the mix.....this will then work as an amplifier for the local room.

See this article:

https://www.beoworld.org/prod_details.asp?pid=978 

Note: you can only listen to the Squezzebox in that room!

If you want to use it globally, you will have to connect it to the Beomaster directly....if you have a free input socket there. 

In that case you won’t need the converter, the amp at all.