rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 4 Replies | 1 Follower

Mrankit07
Not Ranked
6 Posts
Bronze Member
Mrankit07 posted on Fri, Sep 11 2020 5:46 PM

Hi, 

Thank for  all the suggestion I have received. Finally i  have setup my 5. using the below setup.

Pre-Amp:Maratnz 7705-

Center Speaker: Beolab 17's

Rear Speaker: Beolab 17's

Front Speaker: Beolab 20's

One thing i realized with this setup is i need a sub woofer for LFE.I have couple questions regarding that.

1)Do i have to use B&O subwoofer or can i use any other brand?

2) Can i use beolab 2 instead of 19's?

Is it possible  in Marantz to  direct  the LFE to front speakers?

I am new to B&O  world.  I

All Replies

trackbeo
Top 200 Contributor
409 Posts
Bronze Member
trackbeo replied on Fri, Sep 11 2020 11:52 PM

The non-B&O part: Yes, in the Marantz surround preamp, to direct  the LFE to front speakers, you just configure it so the front speakers are "large", i.e. full-range.  And you configure it so there are zero (no) LFE speakers attached to its sub connectors.  That will route the bass to the 20's.  Without looking at the manual, I'm not sure if you must configure it so the surround speakers are "small", i.e. limited-frequency.  (The 17's are sort of middle-of-the-road, not as small as the typical satellites used for surround in a less-expensive setup, but obviously not as bass-capable as the 20's.  I guess I would use "small" for a first pass, but try it both ways.  It really depends on what frequency the Marantz cuts off the bass, and how much mid-bass it pushes to whichever channel is reproducing the LFE instead of the actual intended (rear) destination.  Maybe the manual will give a hint? [Edit: Sure enough -- set the crossover speaker selection to "Individual" and then pick the frequency -- but only if the Subwoofer Mode is set to "LFE+Main" *and* the speaker is set to "Small".  Clear?  Didn't think so!  Definitely RTFM.Smile])