Sign in   |  Join   |  Help

Integrating Beomaster 5500 and Beolink Passive

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 40 Replies | 2 Followers

styppen
Top 500 Contributor
Slovenia
83 Posts
Bronze Member
styppen posted on Fri, Apr 17 2020 11:25 PM

Hi all,

I have a Beomaster 5500 in my living room. I’m considering putting a pair of CX50s in my kitchen and somehow connect them to Beomaster 5500.

I also like the Beolink Passive in a combination with a circular IR eye. I was hoping to enable/disable speakers in the kitchen and control the volume with the IR eye buttons.

Since Beolink Passive uses MasterLink I was wondering whether integrating them is possible. 

The way I understand Beomaster speaks Master Control Link (MCL) and Beolink Passive speaks MasterLink (ML) and you have to “translate” that.

Can this be achieved by using a Beolink Converter to translate MCL to ML? Then connect the Beolink Converter to the Beolink Passive ML?

The thing that also confuses is the audio signal level. In MCL the audio signal is at speaker level. I imagine this signal should be somehow attenuated to line level for the Beolink Passive.

I feel like I’m missing something out here and I would really appreciate some help.

Thanks

All Replies

styppen
Top 500 Contributor
Slovenia
83 Posts
Bronze Member

Hi Guy, thanks for this tip.

I tried what you suggested. Again, I used a setup with Beolink Converter as Audio Master. I plugged an iPod into the Converter via 5 pin DIN since it was at hand.

When I entered the suggested command the Beolink Passive did in fact turn on. LED in the housing went from red to green. Yay, progress! 

Unfortunately, there was no sound coming from the speakers even though music was playing on the iPod. I also tried connecting 7 pin DIN cable from the Beomaster and still no sound. When in test mode, whenever I press any button on the Beo4, the Passive goes out of test mode and the red LED is lit again.