rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 6 Replies | 1 Follower

Mike Rudinsky
Not Ranked
Seattle, WA USA
15 Posts
Bronze Member

Hi Guys:
I have recently become a silver member and have downloading service docs and have been reading a lot of the posts on this Forum.  I can see what a valuable resource this site is!!   I have always loved the look of B&O products bu recently purchased some vintage audio products.  I got a Beomaster 2000, Beogram CD X and Beovox S45 speakers with stands. All of them work great, but I am just getting to know them and will be exploring them in more detail...

My question is re the Beogram CD X type 5123, built March 86.  It is very nice sounding.  But I have noticed something weird re the EJECT and LOAD actions.  The Dust cover opens as it should, and closes based on slight pressure against the dust cover; holding the STOP button down for 2 seconds; and pressing the PLAY button.

The problem is that the CD platter never lifts up when the dustcover is opened.

I downloaded the service docs and found the picture of the platter with a prominent "tounge" that should fit underneath the eject bar.   Cannot add a picture of the section of doc

Mine does not have a tongue like that.  It is at most a 1/4 inch.  The edge is somewhat rougher than elsewhere so it could have been removed at some time.  See picture.  I can see the eject bar moving without the platter in place and the toungue would have to be about 2 inches to reach it during opening.

Question:

1)  Did they change the design at some point and have an alternate method of raising the platter?  And my unit is in some halfway from method one to method two?

2)  If there was only one type of platter and mine has been cut up, any thoughts on fixing it?  Are there good platters out there to use as replacements?

Thanks in Advance!!! 

Mike

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Dillen
Top 10 Contributor
Copenhagen / Denmark
10,974 Posts
Founder