rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 62 Replies | 2 Followers

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,717 Posts
Gold Member
sonavor posted on Fri, Jul 3 2015 11:47 PM

I have been collecting various Beosystem 5000 and 5500 components over the last few years when they would show up for sale with low values. One of my goals this year was to spend some time and get a working 5500 system so I thought now would be a good time.

So far I have a Beomaster 5500 recapped and working well. I also have a CD5500 that only required a belt change and a Beogram 5000 that I had to change out the transformer and fix the usual deck lid latch.
The Beocord 5500 is on my bench now but it looks like it will need a part or a repair of a part.

Here is the restored system so far. It looks nice on my SC60 cabinet and with a pair of RL140 speakers.

UPDATED...

All Replies

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,717 Posts
Gold Member

I worked on the Beomaster 5500 first. This is what it looked like first opened up.  It was in good shape and worked moderately well but it didn't seem like it sounded as good as I expected it to so I decided to do recap it.

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,717 Posts
Gold Member

The tuner board tilts up nicely for access so I recapped that one first.

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,717 Posts
Gold Member

There wasn't anything eventful on this recap.  It was just a straightforward desoldering of old parts and soldering in of new parts.  The tricky parts were figuring out how to dismantle the Beomaster.  To do the rest of the boards I removed them all from the chassis.

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,717 Posts
Gold Member

Removing the boards also allowed me to clean any dust out of the Beomaster chassis.