Beomaster 1900-2 won't power on

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 71 Replies | 0 Followers

Brokenstereo
Not Ranked
43 Posts
Silver Member
Brokenstereo posted on Wed, Feb 17 2021 10:27 PM

Hi I have a beomaster 1900-2 that wont power on after I recapped it, replaced the rectifier and replaced the emitter resistors as 2 had gotten far too hot

My first issue I have no idea what wire is live the black or blue?

Then after that where should I look?

I have a meter but not overly sure how to use it for testing components really any help really really appreciated.

All Replies

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,614 Posts
Gold Member

Okay but don't continue until you replace TR27.  The +15VDC power supply needs that.

I am going to guess that the -31VDC filter capacitor incident was the root cause for the TR200-TR301 Darlington failures.
There could be other problems so check out the other components that connect to the +-31VDC rails.

-sonavor

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,614 Posts
Gold Member

One other thing...
When you replace the power transistors do not try to turn the Beomaster 1900 on without mounting those transistors to their heatsinks (with proper thermal insulators).  

-sonavor

Brokenstereo
Not Ranked
43 Posts
Silver Member

wont normal cpu thermal paste be ok ?

ive ordered upgraded darlingtons 142 and 147 as they were easier to get hold of  and a bunch of tip32c mine had a 32A fitted but i couldnt get that easily

and a new pair of 5600 caps

sonavor
Top 25 Contributor
Texas, United States
3,614 Posts
Gold Member

I think a lot of the cpu thermal paste is conductive.
On the transistors that press against a heatsink with a spring such as the Beomaster 1900/2400 I have been using Sil-Pad product for the thermal conductivity. When I don't use the Sil-Pad production I use Wakefield 120 white thermal paste.

-sonavor

Brokenstereo
Not Ranked
43 Posts
Silver Member