Beovox Penta with Beolink passive

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 2 Followers

oim1212
Not Ranked
15 Posts
Bronze Member
oim1212 posted on Tue, Oct 20 2020 11:30 PM

Hey guys I am new in this forum and very exited to be a part of it.

I have a question! I have a pair of beolab 3 and a beolab 2 connected to a Beocenter 2. I recently bought some Beovox pentas with beosystem 5500 for super cheap and I would like to us them with my current system. Maybe this is just a stupid setup but since I'm new to the B&O world and only 18 years old I love testing! So is Beolink passive my best option or is it to weak to drive the Pentas! And could I also connect the Beograd 5500 turntable to the Beolink passive. I know that the Beomaster is really good but I would like to use it with the newer system.

sorry for the newbie questions and thanks !

All Replies

leosgonewild
Top 50 Contributor
2,092 Posts
Bronze Member
The Beogram 5500 first not have own RIAA amplifier. It needs to be connected to a Beomaster with RIAA amplifier. Your beomaster 5500 has RIAA. Your Beosound 2 does not.

You can buy a separate RIAA for connecting the Beogram 5500 to any system.

The pickups (mmc1, mmc2, mmc3, mmc4 and mmc5) for the Beogram is not produced anymore, and it is very expensive to get fixed.

Do yourself a favor and get a ProJect turntable instead.

Your Penta speakers most likely needs refoaming, because the surround goal rings on the midranges are rotten. It is a fairly easy and cheap job to do yourself. And the will sound MUCH better after.

You have pretty good setup with your Beolab 2 and Beolab 3’s, so I would suggest you test the Pentas with the Beosystem 5500, before you start implementing them with your system.

I have a pair of Beolab Pentas, and I will be selling the amplifiers from them if you are interested in converting yours to active Pentas.

Stoobietoo
Top 150 Contributor
Exeter, Devon, UK
515 Posts
Gold Member