Sign in   |  Join   |  Help

Integrating Beomaster 5500 and Beolink Passive

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 40 Replies | 2 Followers

styppen
Top 500 Contributor
Slovenia
84 Posts
Bronze Member
styppen posted on Fri, Apr 17 2020 11:25 PM

Hi all,

I have a Beomaster 5500 in my living room. I’m considering putting a pair of CX50s in my kitchen and somehow connect them to Beomaster 5500.

I also like the Beolink Passive in a combination with a circular IR eye. I was hoping to enable/disable speakers in the kitchen and control the volume with the IR eye buttons.

Since Beolink Passive uses MasterLink I was wondering whether integrating them is possible. 

The way I understand Beomaster speaks Master Control Link (MCL) and Beolink Passive speaks MasterLink (ML) and you have to “translate” that.

Can this be achieved by using a Beolink Converter to translate MCL to ML? Then connect the Beolink Converter to the Beolink Passive ML?

The thing that also confuses is the audio signal level. In MCL the audio signal is at speaker level. I imagine this signal should be somehow attenuated to line level for the Beolink Passive.

I feel like I’m missing something out here and I would really appreciate some help.

Thanks

All Replies

styppen
Top 500 Contributor
Slovenia
84 Posts
Bronze Member

Thanks, things are definitely more clear now. I was not aware of the Audio AUX Link and its features.

styppen
Top 500 Contributor
Slovenia
84 Posts
Bronze Member

I tried connecting Beolink Passive to my Beomaster 5500 and I'm having some issues.

Here's the setup:

Beomaster 5500 (TAPE2/AUX) ---- DataLink ---> Beolink Converter (1611) ---- MasterLink ----> Beolink Passive

When I plug the Beolink Passive into mains a green LED is lit inside the Passive and after a couple of seconds it goes to red. I assume this LED indicates standby mode. The PLAY LED on the IR eye is also turned on once Passive is plugged into mains.