rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 82 Replies | 0 Followers

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member
Craig posted on Wed, Jun 12 2019 7:05 PM

Following on from Peters BM8000 I have decided to take a look at this unit, came by way of Solderon (well I have to have something to occupy my time!) I'm not sure about these "modern day" pieces, prefer the metal and wood construction...and the micro-computer thing is also daunting, but they do look rather slick with the digital display.  

All Replies

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member

Ok output board next.....

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member

I now know where the remaining two Bipolar capacitors live ;¬)

BEOVOX141
Top 150 Contributor
Denmark, West
698 Posts
Silver Member

Isn't that just cool, in all my years working as an EE engineer i have NEVER come across a 100uF bipolar cap like this... I guess you live and learn.

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member
Craig replied on Thu, Jun 27 2019 7:55 AM

Yes....only seen axial ones for cross over's......though I dont have many years in this field, I have read that connecting two polarised caps together can give the same result, Rudi does this with his Beogram's.....as I recall, but seemingly it can lead to problems down the road oxidising the internals?

Craig

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member

All done and ready for a test....set the quiet current before I move on.

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member

Both channels adjust up nicely to the prescribed 22.0mV......

Craig
Top 75 Contributor
Yarm, United Kingdom
1,483 Posts
Gold Member

Offset to 0.0mV or as close as I can get it....set this with PH selected, no input and no speakers....I did find when I selected any of the FM inputs that the Offset mV went up quite a bit...

Craig