Sign in   |  Join   |  Help

What is going on with B&O’s current TV lineup?

Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 167 Replies | 1 Follower

Hero71
Not Ranked
68 Posts
Bronze Member
Hero71 posted on Tue, Feb 26 2019 7:09 PM

I’ve been keeping an eye out for B&O’s TV line up for the past 8 months, ever since I overheard a rumour that B&O will most likely stop making TV’s. It’s no secret that shares dropped almost a quarter by the end of last year and the company has been struggling keeping up with the pace the competition is refreshing lineups and adding smart features.

I’m not sure if there is any truth to this rumour but the fact that the lineup has remained unchanged and is limited to two models for this long is not very reassuring.

All Replies

Millemissen
Top 10 Contributor
Flensborg, Denmark
12,273 Posts
Bronze Member

BEOVOX141:

Millemissen:
a simple HDMI output.....’ - if it was that easy....that would be magic 🙃

You are absolutely right, it was(is).

Indeed what you show there is nothing new - some people even used that for mirror tv’s in the bathroom decades ago.

That tv however is just a display - the sources are in or connected to the BeoSystem.

Today the situation is a completely different - there are hardly no external sources anymore.

Everything is handled via the tv/the apps built-in there.

People don’t connect a DVD/BluRay player anymore, hardly an ATV in near future, ChromeCast is built-in to the tv....soon noone will need an oldschool tv-tuner, since streaming is prefred to flowtw.

You may not like it - but it is the reality, that B&O must face, when they offer a tv nowadays.

The challenge will be: how to control that tv with the B&O remote logic - and how to handle the sound that is associated with the video of the tv in an external B&O sound device.