rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 0 Replies | 0 Followers

esap57
Not Ranked
1 Posts
Bronze Member
esap57 posted on Tue, Aug 14 2018 10:53 PM

Hello all!

I'm relatively new to the world of turntables and Bang & Olufsen, and my Uncle recently generously gifted me his old Beogram RX2 (type #5833). It's in fairly good condition with the cartridge (an MMC 5) still in tact.

Unfortunately, I've run into a number of issues that I was hoping someone could potentially help me through. Upon first playing the turntable, I discovered that the tonearm would move to the record as it began to spin, wait there momentarily and then stop, returning back to rest as the record stopped spinning. In doing some research on this issue, I discovered a video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3fY6tQ6tgNs) which said this issue could be fixed by cleaning the two operation switches underneath the turntable platter. I attempted to do so with nail polish remover (an old Beoworld post – https://archivedforum.beoworld.org/forums/p/18868/188394.aspx – recommended doing so), yet was still experiencing the same issue as before.

In further attempts to clean the switches, I moved the tonearm operating mechanisms (which are next to the operation switches), which appear to me just as white gears. In doing this, I caused the turntable to begin playing while I was reassembling it. I discovered that in fixing the original issue I had messed with the tonearm operating mechanisms in such a way that it completely threw off the tonearm's functionality.