rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 9 Replies | 2 Followers

OlivierC
Not Ranked
11 Posts
Bronze Member
OlivierC posted on Wed, Aug 8 2018 10:38 PM

Hello, 

I’m still quite new to the BeoWorld, I’m just starting to dip my toes, therefore pardon me in case my questions might sound a bit naive. 

I am currently looking for a pre-loved white BeoPlay V1-40 with the ambition of using it primarily as a wireless speaker for streaming music (Apple Music, Spotify, TuneIn) via Apple devices (both iOS and macOS), for an old audio system via Airport Express, then as a tv player of streamed content (Netflix and NAS). 

Hence my questions. 

1) I thought I had collected all the possible facts about the V1 in the past few weeks, while just today I have stumbled on the information that the WiFi antenna was an option! 😳

What if it is not included? Should I look for the OE Tyco antenna? If yes, any suggestion on where I can find it and estimated cost? If not, is there any alternate option you may suggest? Which 802.11 standard is complying to? Single or dual band?

2) I would like to add the 4K Apple TV, even though I am aware I will not benefit of the 4K and HDR features. 

Would it still fit on the recessed rear channel? Would it work also as a WiFi receiver for the TV (then making the Tyco antenna unnecessary)? How can I control music streaming from old hi-fi+AE, speakers on and video turned off? Would casual gaming via A-TV have the same lag experienced with game consoles? 

3) In case of future wireless audio expansion what would you suggest? Would it be possible to connect BeoPlay A6 or A9? 

Well, while re-reading my post I have noticed that I have collected a fair amount of doubts, so I hope you Gentlemen can help to clarify at least some of them. 

Thank you! 

OlivierC

All Replies

jans
Top 200 Contributor
Belgium
346 Posts
Bronze Member
jans replied on Thu, Aug 9 2018 8:31 AM
Hello Olivier