Sign in   |  Join   |  Help

BV avant 55" speaker when off

rated by 0 users
This post has 30 Replies | 2 Followers

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael Posted: Wed, Jan 21 2015 9:27 PM
As my Avant is bugging out completely now (crashing and rebooting strangely) I've noticed how cool the set looks with the speakers visible. I would like the possibility to configure the set to not hide the speakers because it simply looks more stunning with then visible I believe. But I think I might change my mind from time to time.

What do you think?

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Amazone
Top 500 Contributor
Netherlands
Posts 187
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Amazone replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 9:37 PM

If I remember correctly this is your second Avant?

BeoVision 11-55, BeoLab 8000, BeoRemote One BT, AppleTV 4, 2x BeoPlay A2, BeoPlay A1

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 9:39 PM

It is, yes.

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Amazone
Top 500 Contributor
Netherlands
Posts 187
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Amazone replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 9:43 PM

Sorry to hear you have still such issues. 

BeoVision 11-55, BeoLab 8000, BeoRemote One BT, AppleTV 4, 2x BeoPlay A2, BeoPlay A1

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:21 PM

Yes, it is a pity. And look at this: 

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example1.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example2.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example3.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example4.jpg 

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:22 PM

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example4.jpg

Something went wrong with the last link in my previous post. 

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

markiedee
Top 200 Contributor
UK
Posts 423
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
markiedee replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:28 PM

Wow the craftsmanship looks really shoddy on your replacement michael, that would bug the living daylights out of me.

Beoplay A2

Bv7Mk3
Top 150 Contributor
uk
Posts 781
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Bv7Mk3 replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:31 PM

Sorry to hear your having problems and the pic looks nasty and that must be a Swop Over? for

another Avant.

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:31 PM

markiedee:

Wow the craftsmanship looks really shoddy on your replacement michael, that would bug the living daylights out of me.

Agreed. It´s very annoying.

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:34 PM

Bv7Mk3:

Sorry to hear your having problems and the pic looks nasty and that must be a Swop Over? for

another Avant.

I don't understand what you mean but yes it does look quite bad.

It´s not as visible in everyday situations but once the light shines on it, or you stand up and look at it, then it is very visible.

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Bv7Mk3
Top 150 Contributor
uk
Posts 781
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Bv7Mk3 replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:42 PM

Your Dealer under the Warrantee should Swop your Bad tv for another new One!

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Wed, Jan 21 2015 10:48 PM

Bv7Mk3:

Your Dealer under the Warrantee should Swop your Bad tv for another new One!



I hope they will. They seem to want to just replace the glass but to be honest I am quite tired of the issues. Almost want to move on and get a Philips design line tv instead with a Bsys4. 

 

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Sal
Top 75 Contributor
California, USA
Posts 1,197
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Sal replied on Thu, Jan 22 2015 2:25 AM

I agree with everyone who said that the right move by the dealer is to get you a new television. My rule of thumb is if someone buys something brand new, and within the first year or so, if there are multiple issues, replace it. Crossing my fingers that they do right by you.

Sal
Top 75 Contributor
California, USA
Posts 1,197
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Sal replied on Thu, Jan 22 2015 2:28 AM

Michael, is the glass sliding down the front facia of the television, or are the gaps you're pointing out behind the front glass? Regardless, for something costing over $10000US, that should NOT be happening, especially on your second television.

KMA
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 614
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
KMA replied on Thu, Jan 22 2015 12:34 PM
Michael:

Yes, it is a pity. And look at this:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example1.jpg https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example2.jpg https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example3.jpg https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2024235/B%26O%20-%20QC%20issues/example4.jpg

Looks to me like the front glass is about to drop off. Was it like this from the beginning?

KMA

B&O product history since 1991: Ridiculously long to list in a signature.

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Thu, Jan 22 2015 1:32 PM

KMA:
Looks to me like the front glass is about to drop off. Was it like this from the beginning?


Yes it was. I don't think it is about to come off. I think they have forgotten to install a black frame between the glass and the fixtures behind. It such a small detail but how can they miss? I would suppose they have a system that needs every part to be checked during installation.

Is this the first B&O TV produced in Czech? If so, it is clear that they need to optimize production. I feel bad having to complain about issues so I am not happy about it. 

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

BeoMegaMan
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 586
OFFLINE
Bronze Member

Do you have a record of your original serial number from the 1st purchase? I've never seen that in all of the Avants I have put up. I wonder if the dealer fixed it locally or swapped out for a fixed unit in their possession that was affect by the known screen issue. I would be surprised if it left the factory like that. 

Ah, you know... A little B&O here, a little there 

TellW
Not Ranked
Switzerland
Posts 3
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
TellW replied on Thu, Jan 22 2015 7:57 PM

Hi Michael

I have exactly the same issue as you have. At daylight this gap on top between screen and bezel is quite obvious. I allready informed me Dealer but no answer from B&O yet.

Please keep us posted as I will do the same. Otherwise I'm quite happy with the Avant and for me it is a very attractive package of sound, picture and B&O Magic.

good luck, Chris

BS9000, BL20, Avant55

Aussie Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Melbourne, AU
Posts 3,554
OFFLINE
Gold Member

Hi Mike,  Sorry to hear of the issues with your Avant, and you are right to feel disappointed even if you feel that you shouldn't complain.  It is your right to complain if something you purchased is not right.

Wishing you every success.  

I would be asking for an entire replacement. 

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Sat, Jan 24 2015 3:39 PM

BeoMegaMan:

Do you have a record of your original serial number from the 1st purchase? I've never seen that in all of the Avants I have put up. I wonder if the dealer fixed it locally or swapped out for a fixed unit in their possession that was affect by the known screen issue. I would be surprised if it left the factory like that. 

Hi BeoMegaMan, yes I think I do. I have both boxes still so it should be on them. 

I am not sure what might have happened to it but it looks intact in any other way ( I havent even dared looking for dust or fingerprints since I have seen it on every Avant in stores etc..).

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Sat, Jan 24 2015 3:41 PM

TellW:

Hi Michael

I have exactly the same issue as you have. At daylight this gap on top between screen and bezel is quite obvious. I allready informed me Dealer but no answer from B&O yet.

Please keep us posted as I will do the same. Otherwise I'm quite happy with the Avant and for me it is a very attractive package of sound, picture and B&O Magic.

good luck, Chris

Hi Chris!

Very interesting to hear! We should check our serial numbers, perhaps it is a bad batch? I also informed my dealer but have yet to get a solution to the issue. And as you, I like the TV but the issue is not very funny.

I do have one more issue with this Avant that wasn't a problem on my previous one and it is that the back aluminum plates vibrates if I play bass through the TV speakers. The metall pieces with damping material on is all bent and I think that is the issue with that.

The set also seems to have som clouding but it is very hard to reproduce, sometimes it is visible but it might perhaps be the local dimming acting up? I am not sure. 

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Sat, Jan 24 2015 3:43 PM

Aussie Michael:

Hi Mike,  Sorry to hear of the issues with your Avant, and you are right to feel disappointed even if you feel that you shouldn't complain.  It is your right to complain if something you purchased is not right.

Wishing you every success.  

I would be asking for an entire replacement. 

I think you are completely right. I´ll contact the store next week. I don't have enough energy for it right now. Too much else in life taking energy so I have to take it easy.  

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Amazone
Top 500 Contributor
Netherlands
Posts 187
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Amazone replied on Sat, Jan 24 2015 4:06 PM

I understand you have no joy in complaining, but since you have the screen issue, vibrations, crashing and sudden reboots, I would not delay and get in touch with the dealer immediately. I wish you good luck and hope you get the unit replaced by a proper one.

BeoVision 11-55, BeoLab 8000, BeoRemote One BT, AppleTV 4, 2x BeoPlay A2, BeoPlay A1

BeoMegaMan
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 586
OFFLINE
Bronze Member

Michael:

BeoMegaMan:

Do you have a record of your original serial number from the 1st purchase? I've never seen that in all of the Avants I have put up. I wonder if the dealer fixed it locally or swapped out for a fixed unit in their possession that was affect by the known screen issue. I would be surprised if it left the factory like that. 

Hi BeoMegaMan, yes I think I do. I have both boxes still so it should be on them. 

I am not sure what might have happened to it but it looks intact in any other way ( I havent even dared looking for dust or fingerprints since I have seen it on every Avant in stores etc..).

 

Check the serial number on the back panel with the original Avant serial # on file. 

 

Ah, you know... A little B&O here, a little there 

TellW
Not Ranked
Switzerland
Posts 3
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
TellW replied on Tue, Feb 17 2015 10:18 PM

Short Update: No answer yet from B&O about the gap issue. But I heard about other Avant owner with this Problem. I wonder if B&O refitted Avants with the clouding Problem with new screens and had Problems to Mount them properly in the bezel (this is pure speculation from my side). I hope B&O will find a good solution for us....

 

BS9000, BL20, Avant55

Jonathan
Not Ranked
San Francisco
Posts 4
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Jonathan replied on Wed, Feb 18 2015 3:19 AM

I know that edge aluminum piece slides up to reveal the assembly screws, its hard to tell in the photos, but perhaps that piece is just not pushed all the way down in place.  

"She likes the boys in the band, she said that I'm her all time favorite" -Rick James

David King
Not Ranked
Southampton, UK
Posts 32
OFFLINE
Silver Member

I double checked mine and I haven't got the same issue, mine was only delivered in mid Jan though, so maybe a batch issue as you say.

something doesn't looks right with the surround though.  Either not pushed in or fitted wrong.  It somehow looks different to mine.  I'll post a picture later.

i would demand the dealer exchanges this, as it's clearly not right!

Aussie Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Melbourne, AU
Posts 3,554
OFFLINE
Gold Member

It's got to the point where you need to demand action.

I would post the pictures on their Facebook page and make them listen to you.

Its something that no one likes to do, but you are a serious B&O fantatic and you have been singing their praises for so long and selling the brand to others.  They are not listening and now its time they step up to the plate. 

HHH
Not Ranked
Posts 10
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
HHH replied on Thu, Feb 19 2015 12:13 PM

I would not go that far just yet, if only problem is that bezel/cover list not snapped in place, as already mentioned it's just a thin bedzel to cover up the screws and just need a gentle push to snap back in place 

It's posible doing the install this list moved up a bit in one or both sides 

have you tried just giving it a gentle push and snapping it back in place? 

Would be much easier than requesting a new TV, granted an image dosen't tell everything so if I'm wrong or something else is up, then please disregard my comment above and contact your dealer for sure 

Beofan25
Not Ranked
Posts 4
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Beofan25 replied on Sat, Mar 7 2015 10:16 PM

Michael / others. Did you get any resolution on this issue of having a gap a the top of the screen? I have the exact same issue with my Avant 55. Thanks.

Michael
Top 50 Contributor
Sweden
Posts 2,518
OFFLINE
Bronze Member
Michael replied on Sat, Mar 7 2015 11:32 PM
dejohnson:

Michael / others. Did you get any resolution on this issue of having a gap a the top of the screen? I have the exact same issue with my Avant 55. Thanks.

I am sorry to say that nothing has happened yet.

Beolab 50, Beolab 8000 x 2, Beolab 4000 x 2, 
BeoSound Core, BeoSound 9000, BeoSound Century, 
BeoLit 15, BeoPlay A1, BeoPlay P2, BeoPlay H9 3rd Gen, BeoPlay H6, EarSet 3i, 
BeoVision Eclipse Gen 2 55", BeoPlay V1-40, 
BeoCom 6000 and so much else :)  

Page 1 of 1 (31 items) | RSS
Beoworld Security Certificate

SSL