rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 4 Replies | 1 Follower

btsmith86
Not Ranked
6 Posts
Silver Member
btsmith86 posted on Sun, Oct 19 2014 8:34 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to the vinyl world and just purchased a Beogram 1700 online and am waiting for it to arrive. The owner says it is in working condition and that it will play records, but I can see in the photos that the clear acrylic stylus guard is missing from the MMC 20EN cartridge. 

My question is two part:

First, is it safe to play records with this piece missing?

Second, is it possible to simply replace the guard without purchasing a pricey new cartridge from Sound-smith?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

-Blake

All Replies

Dave Farr
Top 50 Contributor
France
2,265 Posts
Bronze Member

Hi Blake and welcome to Beoworld.

The MMC20EN is fully usable without the acrylic guard.  Many fall off over time.  You just have to be a bit careful with it - avoid sideways movement when you brush it etc.

It may suffer from the usual suspension failure so don't expect too much from the cartridge.  They can be repaired.  You do not have to buy a replacement unless you want to.

Axel repairs them at:  http://www.schallplattennadeln.de/B-O-MMC-Reparatur-Repair/REPARATUR-MMC-20/

Guards can just be glued back on but if Axel repairs it, he may well be able to do this accurately if you ask him.

Gold and Silver members have access to all of the user and service manuals.  Your BG1700 is old and will benefit from a good internal clean and lubrication.  Search the Forum for help.

Dave.

btsmith86
Not Ranked
6 Posts
Silver Member

Hi David,

Thanks so much for the thorough response. Glad to hear that it can function without the guard - and that if need be I can have it repaired by Axel for what looks like a reasonable price. Maybe I can find an extra guard from a broken machine somewhere around Brooklyn in the mean time.