rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 4 Replies | 2 Followers

grantsbeo
Not Ranked
1 Posts
Bronze Member
grantsbeo posted on Fri, Feb 5 2016 6:49 PM

Hi there,

I am looking for some advice, and please consider that I am an absolute novice when it comes to audio 'tech'!

I recently decided enough was enough with my crappy sound systems, and hunted the local ads for some decent speakers, read up (quickly) and ended up finding a pair of beolab penta II speakers for the princely sum of 200euros! The guy wanted a lot more, but I pointed out the knackered foams, and I had to buy them without testing(!) I've tried each one and they seem fine (except for foams). I do however need some guidance...

As the speakers have the amp integrated, do the speakers have a volume control? - when I connect my phone the volume on max is not very loud...or do I need a remote control?

Can someone explain the switches, I understand the bass control, but 'input control' and 'mode'?

Finally I intend if possible to stream music to the speakers via bluetooth, I have seen various bluetooth receivers and a 'DAC' can someone explain how I choose the right one. I also read an interesting blog post on a Fatman Mi-Tube 2 Bluetooth Hybrid Valve Amplifier this has bluetooth, and was raved about for it's sound quality - do I need an amp? [added: Apparently bluetooth will cause lower sound quality, so is a chromecast is an option...?]

If this isn't the way to go to play mp3s please suggest another solution!

All assistance welcome!

Thanks

Grant

All Replies

runekock
Not Ranked
24 Posts
Silver Member

One advantage of bluetooth is that it works with all apps. If your phone and receiver have aptX, you will get reasonable quality for music, though the delay can be a problem for videos. I don't have powered speakers, so I connected the Bluetooth receiver to my amp. I bought this cheap one, and find it OK :

http://s.aliexpress.com/aqUni6fu

Xseries
Top 150 Contributor