rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 12 Replies | 0 Followers

ptr
Not Ranked
5 Posts
Silver Member
ptr posted on Thu, Feb 16 2017 10:39 PM

Good evening!

I am new to Beoworld and this is my first post.

I have never owned a B&O unit before and a couple of weeks ago I came across a Beomaster 1200 along with a Beogram 1800. The units had been stored for a decade or so and were in excellent exterior condition and had also their original user manuals, so I decided to go for it.

The receiver worked and sounded real nice but unfortunately the motor in the record player was burned. So then I started googling and soon I ended up here. I was excited to find all the restoration project threads and tip how to find spares, even for more than 50 years old pieces.

Thanks to Martin/Beoparts I managed to get a replacement for the burned motor and got the player to spin. By now I had got quite fond of the equipment and though it sounded well there were some issues; The amplifier and power lamp would sometimes need a couple of attempts on the buttons to get up and running. Also the tuner indicator lamps didn't work. So I decided to go all in and ordered a service kit with new capacitors and trimmers, downloaded the service manual and spent last weekend with the soldering iron.

Now the Beomaster starts up nice every time. It doesn't get so warm underneath as before and sounds even better. I now use it every day both listenig to vinyl records and streaming with a Chromecast audio.

My new favorite lounge:

All Replies

Steffen
Top 50 Contributor
Denmark
1,271 Posts
Gold Member
Steffen replied on Thu, Feb 16 2017 11:55 PM

Welcome to Beoworld.

Congrats with your nice vintage system. But beware... You might get addicted, and want to buy more B&O. Big Smile

Peter
Top 200 Contributor
Saint Paul, Minnesota
252 Posts
Gold Member
Peter replied on Fri, Feb 17 2017 2:39 AM